Home-School Communication

Seesaw at Hemingford Grey Primary School 

Hemingford Grey Primary School uses Seesaw as an online learning and communication platform for the whole school. Seesaw is app-based technology which allows: 

  • Teachers to create activities to share with students. 

  • Students to use creative tools to take pictures, draw, record and more to capture learning in a portfolio. 

  • Families to see their child’s work and leave comments and encouragement. 

The system in our school has been set up centrally, ensuring appropriate accountability and safeguarding procedures are in place. Whilst each teacher will moderate and manage their respective classes on Seesaw, senior leaders have access and will maintain an overview of the whole school. 

Unique invite codes are sent out via email to new parents, with accompanying links to ‘how-to’ guides for setting up the Seesaw Class app for children, and Seesaw Family app for parents. 

Teachers will maintain and direct learning during normal working hours (approx. 8:30am – 4.30pm) Monday – Friday.  Although all content will be viewed in order to approve it, it is unrealistic for teachers to make comments on everything that is posted. General feedback will be given on specific learning activities, alongside directed words of encouragement and support. 

We recognise that not everyone will have access to the same types of technology or the resources to print from a computer.  Pupils may complete activities in whatever ways work best in their situation, including simple note making with paper and pen from online viewing.  Evidence of learning can be sent typed, screenshot, photographed or uploaded in any other creative means. 

Seesaw code of conduct 

In order to use Seesaw safely and effectively to support learning, please adhere to the follow: 

Keep login details, including invite codes, private and secure. 

Only allow the named individual to use each profile.  

When making posts and comments, please do so politely and respectfully, in accordance with our school values and behaviour policy. 

Be aware of what you are saying and to who – check the ID labels (top left) to inform you about who can see each post. 

Keep comments relevant to the initial post they relate to – do not use the platform for general discussion about things unrelated to our school and the directed learning. 

Check the suitability of posts before uploading, making sure it does not contain any personal information, such as your address or contact details. (Consider carefully what is in the background of any photo.) 

Pupils should check permission with their parents before uploading documents/files or making requests for posts to be shared with others in the class. 

 

Guide to the sharing of learning using Seesaw 

Teachers may post learning on Seesaw in 1 of 3 ways: 

  1. Teachers may share an announcement of learning. This is like an email message contained in the Seesaw inbox. Pupils can view these messages only, while parents have the facility to send messages in reply. 

  1. Teachers may post work for pupils on the class journal.  Pupils can make short comments on this post in response or create their own posts, described below, to include additional detail or upload documents. 

  1. Teachers may set learning as activities within the activities tab. 

 

Pupils may post a response to learning set by their teacher using the big green +Add button found on the journal page. They have options to take a photo, draw a picture, write a note, record video, attach files or add an online link.  This content is then shared with their teacher and can be viewed by their parents through the linked family account. 

Pupils may also respond to learning activities set in the Activities tab, responding at the bottom of the instruction page using the green + Add button in the same way as described above. 

 If a parent has an individual query about their child’s learning, they have the facility to message teachers through their family account and can include attachments of learning. This will not be shared publicly. 

 

Understanding who sees which posts 

When pupils make new posts, they are shared only with their teacher and family and will be labelled with just the name of the pupil alongside it. 

When teachers make posts, they may select to share it with individuals, groups of children or everyone in the class.  Each post is labelled alongside it at the top left with who can see it, with the class name/icon indicating it has been shared with everyone.  Any comments made underneath these posts can also be viewed by all pupils the post is shared with and their assigned family. 

 Parents can also add comments to their child’s posts. Teachers see a list of which parents have viewed posts.   

Individual posts can have their settings changed to make them available for everyone in the class to see. Teachers may choose to do this as a way of sharing good examples of learning that have been sent to them. Pupils can also change the setting of their post, requesting from their teacher that this individual post be shared with everyone.  Teachers will consider the appropriateness of each post to be shared before it is published. 

Shared posts are assigned as a post on each child’s journal, allowing all assigned parents to view them in accordance with the family permissions.  [Shared posts are identified as ‘your posts’ because they are in ‘your’ journal; it does not mean you were the person who originally posted them.]    

 

The sharing of posts should only be applied to new posts made in the class journal, and not to posts made responding to set tasks in the activities tab.